The FREMONT HISTORICAL MUSEUM is located at 8 Beede Hill Road and is open during the summer months, usually on Saturdays.
The Fremont Historical Museum at 8 Beede Road will be open during the summer months between 10:00 am until 2:00 pm on the following Saturdays:
Admission is always FREE. These dates are wonderful opportunities for residents & visitors alike to get to know one of the most intriguing towns in New Hampshire and find out what makes our town so historic and unique
The Museum can also be opened by special appointment by calling Matthew Thomas, FHS President at 603 895 4032.
The Fremont Historical Museum houses over 50 fascinating exhibits dating between 1734 and 2001 -- including wreckage from the B-52 Stratofortress Plane that crashed into Fremont's Spruce Swamp on August 10, 1959- the first B-52 plane crash in American history without casualties; the historic Spaulding & Frost Barrel Cooperage that operated between 1874 &1999 - the oldest white pine Cooperage in the United States; the historic 1800 Twin-Porch Meeting House - one of only two unique twin-porch meeting houses in the United States; plus exhibits on Fremont's FOUR RIOTS including the Mast Tree Riot of 1734- the first riot of its type in America; The Riot of 1757 when the British Army tried to arrest local John Kenniston - a possible deserter of the French & Indian War resulting with the British Army
being chased out of town fearing for their lives; the Civil War Riot of July 4, 1861 - the first Civil War Riot in New England and the fourth in America; the St. Patrick's Day Riot of 1874 when Irishmen working on the local railroad rioted in Fremont & Raymond while celebrating their patron Saint.
The museum also houses exhibits on the unique 1960's all-girl band called "THE SHAGGS" - a nationally recognized "outsider music" group that received national attention during the late 1990's.
Fremont's 1911 Town Hall is the only tin-sided Town Hall in New Hampshire; Fremont was the boyhood home of David Kenniston (1736-1852) -supposedly the last surviving member of the historic 1773 Boston Tea Party dying at age 115 at Chicago, Illinois in 1852. Fremont was once home to Josiah H.L. Tuck - a pioneer inventor of American submarines; Herbert Janvrin Brown - a nationally respected Weather Forecaster in the 1920's & 1930's. The John Brown Family Gunsmiths were highly respected New Hampshire gunsmiths between 1845 and 1907. Since 1985 the largest Snowmobile Grass Racing & Water Crossing Competition in the world draws over 50,000 people to Fremont each Columbus Day Weekend. Learn about the intriguing 1843 Poplin Treasures in Spruce Swamp, and the nationally
recognized 1965 & 2002 U.F.O sightings in Fremont. These and many other colorful events make Fremont a true hotbed of fascinating historical happenings!