Report of the FCTV Committee

FREMONT COMMUNITY TELEVISION (FCTV) – A BRIEF HISTORY

<u>2014-2015</u> – In March of 2014 FCTV began with a 24/7 community bulletin board, video recording of town and local events, parades, 250th concerts, Ellis School plays and holiday concerts for broadcasting on channel 22.

2015-2017 – In March 2015 remote cameras and a control room were installed at the town hall and FCTV began broadcasting Selectmen's meetings live and by June all Town Boards and Committees were either broadcast live or video recorded for re-broadcast. With the cooperation of the Library Trustees and staff we were also able to establish a comfortable alternative meeting space at the library community room.

<u>Future Plans</u> – Work with the School Board to broadcast live by Fall 2017, within 2 years establish a second "educational" channel, within 3 to 5 years, work with the Ellis School to create a media club for middle school students and to develop more local programming.

For the past 3 years the Cable Committee has been drawing from funds collected prior to 2013. After 3 years of building a public access channel for the Town of Fremont, the time has come for the Cable Committee to ask voters to reinstate a 2% Comcast subscriber fee (television portion only) in order to build up a fund for eventual equipment replacement and to provide funding for FCTV into the long-term future.

No Town funds are used for Fremont Community Television so there is no impact on property taxes.

The Fremont Cable Committee and volunteers have worked to not only provide some educational, entertaining and local programming, we have dedicated most of our time in keeping our residents informed by broadcasting live, or video recorded for re-broadcast, all Town Boards, Committees and Public Hearings.

Public Access Motto: Inform – Educate – Entertain

Please vote Yes on Warrant Article #18 and help Fremont Community Television stay on air. Thank you.

Respectfully submitted,

The Fremont Cable Committee Bruce White, Chairman Bill Millios, Member 1 Open Seat

Leo Danjou, Member Felicia Augevich, Member