Report of the Safety Committee

Fremont has always had some form of Safety Committee, for the past four years we have met on a regular basis (quarterly) with a goal of keeping our Town and buildings safe.

The members consist of Town Administrator Heidi Carlson, Police Chief Jon Twiss, Deputy Health Officer Carla Smith, Librarian Eric Abney, Road Agent Leon Holmes Jr, Fire Rescue Representative Joe Goldstein and myself. We also have Rick Butler, Jeanne Nygren, Joe Nichols, Mary Wheaton-Pinder and seasonally Jared Butler join our meetings. Other members who have left since 2012 have been Meredith Bolduc, Mark Pitkin, Bethany Brace and Ellen Arcieri.

We look at and inspect our buildings and have made changes accordingly. From heaves in the library sidewalk, work space around electrical panels, access to winter conditions, emergency escape plans, Hazard Mitigation Plan to adding bollards - just to name a few. We have also come up with building safety check lists, ladder safety and a slip, trip & fall policy and revisited Fremont's Safety Program.

This is of course an ongoing process and a new report for the annual Town Report. I would like to thank all involved for their time and dedication to this important process.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert N. Meade Chairman



Fremont Safety Committee ~ December 2015 Back Row L to R: Jon Twiss, Bob Meade, Carla Smith, Eric Abney Front Row L to R: Joe Goldstein, Heidi Carlson

Photo Courtesy of Mary Wheaton-Pinder